Here goes…

Standard

I finally did it!  I’ve been wanting to start a blog for awhile.  Pretty much just a place where I can keep my family & friends that I don’t see very often up to date on what’s going on up here in good ol’ Sebastopol.  To be honest, I didn’t trust (and maybe still don’t completely) that I would actually keep up with a blog. So, I just opened a file on my computer where I wrote things that I maybe would include in a blog were I to ever have one. I think I’ve proved myself trustworthy but I guess only time will tell 🙂

Here are a few “posts” that I had previously created:

 

July 14, 2009

 

My sister, Erin, gave me the greatest birthday gift…she came to visit me!  We had the best time eating, wandering through a farmer’s market, trying new ice cream flavors (lavender, rose and olive oil, yes olive oil ice cream!) window shopping, eating some more, watching re-runs of “My So-Called Life” and visiting my cousin’s new baby boy in Napa. 

Here are a few pictures of our weekend…

Erin & Bethany in Healdsburg

Erin & Bethany in Healdsburg

 

After my birthday dinner at "Toast"

After my birthday dinner at "Toast"

 

Kim came down from Redding and spent some time with us

Kim came down from Redding and spent some time with us

 

August 15, 2009

 

My Grandpa (my Dad’s step-father) died a few weeks ago and yesterday was his memorial.  The service was the first military funeral that I have attended and it was really special.  It was complete with the guns firing, the playing of “Taps” and the folding of the flag.  I got super emotional when my grandma was presented the folded flag.  He leaned in closely to her and said, in a quiet voice for only her to hear, “On behalf of the President of the United Stated of America…” and I lost it.  We then spent the afternoon at my aunt & uncle’s house eating, catching up with family, and telling stories about Grandpa.
The best thing was that my Mom, Erin and Lance came up and stayed with me!  On Saturday we drove out to Bodega Bay and had breakfast at the Tides Wharf.  mmm…crab cakes benedict…so good!

 

bodega

The girls

 

e&l

Lance & Erin

 

Me & mom

Mom & Me

Erin and I basically became one with nature this weekend.  We went berry picking – not as successful as we would have hoped – but berry picking nonetheless.  We went to another aunt & uncle’s house for a BBQ and made ourselves at home in their garden, and when I say garden, I mean GARDEN.  Basically their entire backyard is vegetation.  Asparagus (have you ever seen how asparagus grows? because I hadn’t), green beans, pumpkins, cantaloupe, artichokes, squash, bok choy, tomatoes, potatoes, etc, etc, etc.

Lance & Erin picking green beans

Lance & Erin picking green beans

Harvesting the red potatoes

Harvesting the red potatoes

August 22, 2009

 

Courtney and I drove to Jackson (as in Johnny Cash Jackson) last night to hang out with Cierra.  We’ve been trying to get together since she had her baby boy, Maverick, in January and it’s taken this long to come to fruition. 

It was a long drive on a Friday night after work but we definitely made up for lost time in chatting until 2am once we got there.  On Saturday, we went to Gracie’s first soccer game.  She was a little rock star!   She scored the first goal and looked so stinkin’ cute in her uniform and little shin guards.

I am so thankful for long-lasting friendships.  Cierra (my friend since 1st grade) and Courtney and I lived in the dorms together.  Here we are, 5 years after college, hanging out in each other’s homes with all kinds of kids running around, and continuing to share our lives with each other. 

Here’s a few pictures (mostly of all the cute kids)

"Little" Courtney (as we called her) & Riley

"Little" Courtney (as we called her) & Riley

Daniel

Daniel

Daniel, meet Maverick

Daniel, meet Maverick

Mickey Mouse pancakes for breakfast

Mickey Mouse pancakes for breakfast

Go #7

Go #7

Ok, I have to pause at this picture above because it makes me laugh!  I’m remembering the pep talk that the coach was giving as the kids were stretching:
Coach:  Alright guys!  When one of our teammates has the ball, do we take it from them?
Kids:  Nooo…
Coach:  Do we touch the ball with our hands?
Kids:  Nooo…
I love when babies wear hats :)

I love when babies wear hats 🙂

 

Courtney, Riley & Gracie

Courtney, Riley & Gracie

The classic outstretched hand shot

The classic outstretched hand shot

3 responses »

  1. I love this! I laughed that you did a “trial run” of maybe posts before you decided to go for the blog =) I miss you tons and love that I can see all of your recent pics.

Leave a Reply

